Governance at High Street Primary Academy

High Street Primary Academy is now working closely with Millbay Academy nearby. It has been agreed that there is a joint board established for the two academies and to bring capacity to both schools.

A local governing body within Reach South Academy Trust:

4 Trust appointed members
2 Elected parent members
2 Elected staff members
Executive Headteacher

Additionally, there can be up to 3 Co-opted members.

Currently there is an Intervention Board in place which consists of Trust appointed governors and those appointed by the GB / Intervention Board.

The following page provides further information on the structure and responsibilities of the governing body.
  • Dean Ashton


    Appointed by: Trust Board
    Term Dates: 25.01.21 - 31.07.22
    Attendance 2021-22 :3/4
    Registered Interests: Trustee, Accounting Officer and CEO of Reach South Academy Trust and Spouse is a Volunteer: Curriculum Development & International Education

    Dean was part of the small team that established REAch2 Academy Trust along with its founder, Sir Steve Lancashire in 2012. Dean also established the business model for the launch of Reach4 Academy in 2015. Dean began his career as a secondary science teacher before taking roles in school management and leadership. He then moved into Local Education Authority leadership as Deputy Director of Education before becoming a Corporate Director of Children’s Services. Dean has held several Trusteeships and Directorships including: Chair of the Cornwall and Isles of Scilly Youth Justice Board; Chair of the South West Grid for Learning; Chair of the Cornwall Children and Young People’s Partnership; and Chair of the Cornwall Local Safeguarding Children Board. Dean has also led an educational consultancy. Dean has been the Director of Operations for REAch2 and Reach4 Academy Trusts.

  • Mr Nick Buckland OBE

    Chair of Governors

    Appointed by: Trust Board
    Term Dates: 25.01.21 - 31.07.22
    Attendance 2021-22 : 3/4
    Registered Interests: Joint owner of Ditchen Farm, Chair of Parnall Group
    Trelonk Ltd / Parnall Aircraft Company / Riverford Organic Trust / Plymouth Waterfront Partnership /
    St Petroc’s School Trust / SA Certification, Director of Talklight Ltd / TWSW Ltd, Trustee of Theatre Royal Plymouth / PML / PMF, Chair of Governors of UTC Plymouth / Stoke Damerel Primary School, Fellow of IMA, RSA, IET, BCS, CMI and Member of IoD / RI. Spouse is a Quality Manager for Cornwall Adult Education.

    Nick has chaired more than 15 regional and national boards, and is currently chair of the Theatre Royal Plymouth and KARST, chair of South West Water’s Water Futures Customer Panel, advisory board member of Devon and Cornwall Business Council, and is a trustee of both Plymouth Marine Laboratory and Peninsula Medical Foundation. He is also the chair of governors at UTC Plymouth. Previously Mr Buckland was chair of governors and Pro Chancellor of the University of Plymouth, and has chaired Plymouth Science Park. He was also the deputy chair of the South West Regional Development Agency and a board member of The Plymouth Development Company, and governor of the Technology Strategy Board, now called Innovate UK

  • Sue Inglish

    Appointed by: GB / Intervention Board
    Term Dates: 25.01.21 - 31.07.22
    Attendance 2021-22 : 4/4
    Registered Interests: Trustee of Hansard Society, Chair of Disasters Emergency Committee, Trustee of Westminster Foundation for Democracy and a Member of News Editorial Board for Sky News

    Sue was Head of Political Programmes at the BBC and a Member of the BBC News Board. An award winning national journalist, Sue chaired the negotiations between the broadcasters and political parties which resulted in the first Prime Ministerial election debates. Sue is Chair of the Disasters Emergency Committee and Member of the Sky News Board.

  • Mark Papworth

    Appointed by: Trust Board
    Term Dates: 25.01.21 - 31.07.22
    Attendance 2021-22 : 3/4
    Registered Interests: Trustee of Reach South Academy Trust, Director / Partner / Consultant of Clayton Consulting, Director of Reliance Precision and and Member of Institute of Electrical Engineers

    Mark is currently a Non-Executive Director of Reliance Precision Limited and Director of CCP Limited. He is an experienced Executive who has worked as a CEO on both PLC and Private Boards operating in the Energy Infrastructure, Oil & Gas, Aerospace and Defence markets. During his career he has worked for a number of companies including Rolls-Royce, Wood Group, Alstom and Chemring.

  • Mr Mike Peters

    Appointed by: Trust Board
    Term Dates: 25.01.21 - 31.07.22
    Attendance 2021-22 :4/4
    Registered Interests: Director of Camber Consulting Ltd and Trustee of REAch2 and Spouse is a Director of Camber Consulting Ltd

    Michael is currently a Director of Camber Consulting and a successful former Director of Education and Head of Children’s Services with 30 years’ experience working within both public and private sectors. With a background in education, Michael has managed public sector organisations with over 800 staff and budgets in excess of £300m. He has successfully worked on establishing new unitary authorities and has led organisations to successful inspection outcomes and achievement of major contracts. He has successful experience in leading and supporting change and implementation of performance and commercialisation of education and children’s services. Currently he is also Director of Development for RSAT

To find out more about Reach South Academy Trust, click on the following link :
Millbay Academy and High Street  Improvement Board meeting dates 2021-22

Monday                       27th September 2021

Monday                       18th October 2021

Monday                       13th December 2021

Monday                       14th February 2022

Monday                       4th April 2022

Monday                       23rd May 2022

Monday                      18th July 2022



Governors of the previous 12 months:
Olivia Frings                Jan 2021
Stephen Felmingham   Oct 2021
Lorraine Hill                 May 2022
If you wish to contact the Chair of Governors you can do so either via the school office or by contacting the Clerk to the Board, Lindsey Johnson:

To find out more about Reach South Academy governance click on the following link-

To find out more about Reach South Academy financial statements click on the following link-